A Case of the Naviblues

CNN has reported that on the fan forum site “Avatar Forums,” a topic thread entitled “Ways to cope with the depression of the dream of Pandora being intangible,” has received more than 1,000 posts from people experiencing depression and fans trying to help them cope. One user wrote:

“Ever since I went to see ‘Avatar’ I have been depressed. Watching the wonderful world of Pandora and all the Na’vi made me want to be one of them. I can’t stop thinking about all the things that happened in the film and all of the tears and shivers I got from it,” Mike posted. “I even contemplate suicide thinking that if I do it I will be rebirthed in a world similar to Pandora and the everything is the same as in ‘Avatar.’ “

In a world where no lawsuit is too frivolous, I honestly can imagine someone trying to sue James Cameron and Co. for Avatar for experiencing depression and suicidal thoughts after seeing the film because they long to enjoy the beauty of the alien world Pandora. Read more about the alien blues HERE.

Leave a Reply

